What Are the Bicycle Laws In Florida?
The National Safety Council reported that there were 308,864 preventable nonfatal bicycle injuries across the country in 2019. This figure represented a 7% increase in these types of injuries from the year before. It is important for cyclists to know the laws regarding bicycle use in their state to ensure that they are protected while riding, especially because many cyclists share the road with motor vehicles. The following article will provide some regulations related to bicycle use in the state of Florida.
Florida’s Bicycle Laws
Florida’s most recent regulations regarding bicycle use is codified at Florida Statute § 316.2065. These regulations include some of the following:
- Cyclists have all the rights and duties applicable to the drivers of motor vehicles.
- A bicycle may not be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed or equipped (however, an adult rider may carry a child securely attached in a backpack or sling).
- A cyclist must carry any passenger who is a child under 4 years of age, or who weighs 40 pounds or less, in a seat or carrier that is designed to carry a child of that age or size (unless the child is securely attached in a backpack or sling).
- A cyclist who is under 16 years of age must wear a bicycle helmet that is properly fitted and is fastened securely upon the cyclist’s head. Law enforcement officers and school crossing guards can issue a verbal warning for violating this requirement.
- Cyclists riding upon a roadway may not ride more than two abreast except on paths or parts of roadways set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles. Additionally, cyclists riding two abreast may not impede traffic when traveling at less than the normal speed of traffic at the time and place and under the conditions then existing and shall ride within a single lane.
- When cyclists ride between sunset and sunrise, their bikes must be equipped with a lamp on the front exhibiting a white light, visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front, as well as a lamp and reflector on the rear, exhibiting a red light visible from a distance of 600 feet to the rear.
- A cyclist riding a bicycle upon and along a sidewalk or crosswalk must yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian and give an audible signal before overtaking and passing the pedestrian.
- All bicycles are to be equipped with brakes which enable the cyclist to stop the bicycle within 25 feet from a speed of 10 miles per hour on dry, level, clean pavement.
Were You Recently Injured in a Bicycle Accident? Schedule a Free Consultation with a Fort Lauderdale Attorney
If you were recently injured in a bicycle accident, Rosen Injury Law, P.A. is here to help. Our Fort Lauderdale bicycle accident attorneys are eager to assist you today.